8 Best OptinMonster Alternatives for Online Stores in 2026

Compare 8 OptinMonster alternatives for online stores, with prices from each vendor's own pricing page, free plans and Shopify fit.

Nikolett LorinczAugust 7, 2025 · 7 min read
In this article
  1. OptinMonster alternatives at a glance
  2. Why stores look for an OptinMonster alternative
  3. How we chose these alternatives
  4. The 8 best OptinMonster alternatives
  5. How much does OptinMonster cost?
  6. How to switch from OptinMonster to OptiMonk
  7. OptinMonster alternatives FAQ
  8. Try the alternative that designs your popups for you

In short

The best OptinMonster alternatives for online stores are OptiMonk, Privy, Sleeknote, Wisepops, Poptin, Klaviyo sign-up forms, Justuno and Popup Maker. Stores switch because OptinMonster has no free plan, renews at a higher price and keeps exit intent and ecommerce integrations on its higher tiers. This guide compares their prices, free plans and Shopify fit.

The best OptinMonster alternatives for online stores are OptiMonk, Privy, Sleeknote, Wisepops, Poptin, Klaviyo sign-up forms, Justuno and Popup Maker. Stores usually switch because OptinMonster has no free plan, renews at a higher price, and keeps exit intent and ecommerce integrations on its higher tiers. If you run a store, choose a tool with cart-based targeting and a native Shopify app.

Prices below are from each vendor's own pricing page, as of October 2026. If you're new to onsite popups, start with our guide to what a popup window is.

OptinMonster alternatives at a glance

ToolFree planEntry paid planPriced byExit intent on entry planBest for
OptiMonkYes, all features (10,000 pageviews/mo)$19/mo billed yearly ($29 monthly)Pageviews + AI creditsYes, every plan incl. FreeStores that want popups designed by AI
PrivyNo (15-day trial)Pop-ups only: from $24/moPageviews (pop-ups) or contacts (email)YesShopify stores that also want email
SleeknoteNo (14-day trial)Core: €49/mo billed yearlyMonthly visitorsYesMid-size stores with a marketing team
WisepopsNot publishedNot published (quote after a demo)Not publishedNot statedStores wanting popups plus other onsite formats
PoptinYes (1,000 visitors/mo)Basic: $25/mo billed yearlyMonthly visitorsYesSmall stores on a budget
Klaviyo sign-up formsYes (forms on the free Klaviyo plan, 250 profiles)From $20/mo (up to 500 active profiles)Active profilesNot statedStores already on Klaviyo email
JustunoNoLite: $59/mo (up to 10K visitors)Monthly visitorsNot stated on pricing pageLarger stores, done-for-you services
Popup MakerYes (free WordPress plugin)Pro: $99/yrNumber of sitesYes (Pro)WordPress sites
OptinMonster (for reference)NoBasic: $9/mo billed yearlyImpressionsNo, from Pro ($37/mo)WordPress lead generation

Note: tools measure usage differently (pageviews, visitors, impressions, contacts), so compare what each plan covers for your traffic, not just the headline price.

Why stores look for an OptinMonster alternative

OptinMonster is a capable lead-generation tool, and many sites use it happily. Online stores tend to leave for five reasons.

1. There's no free plan or free trial

OptinMonster states on its own site that it doesn't offer a free version or a freemium plan; you get a 14-day money-back guarantee instead. Its WordPress plugin is free to install, but it needs an OptinMonster account to work.

2. Key features sit on higher tiers

On OptinMonster's pricing page, A/B testing starts on Plus ($27/mo billed yearly), Exit Intent® on Pro ($37/mo), and integrations with Shopify, WooCommerce and other ecommerce platforms on Growth ($67/mo). For a store, those are core features, not extras.

3. Renewal prices are higher than the first year

The yearly prices shown are introductory. As of October 2026, OptinMonster's pricing page lists:

PlanFirst yearRenews at (per year)SitesImpressions/mo
Basic$108$21012,500
Plus$324$570210,000
Pro$444$870325,000
Growth$804$1,4705100,000

4. It's built around WordPress and lead generation

OptinMonster grew up as a WordPress lead-capture tool. Stores often want targeting built on shopping behavior (cart value, products in the cart, returning customers) and a native app for their store platform.

5. Impression-based limits add up

OptinMonster's plans are capped by campaign impressions: every time a campaign is shown counts. On a busy store with several campaigns, impressions run out faster than you might expect.

How we chose these alternatives

We looked for tools an online store can run on its own and compared them on:

  • Price at store traffic levels, including free plans
  • Targeting for shoppers (exit intent, cart, returning visitors)
  • Store platforms: Shopify and others
  • Testing and analytics: A/B tests, revenue attribution
  • Setup effort: how much design and setup work the store has to do

We're OptiMonk, so we put ourselves first; we've tried to describe every tool fairly, including our own downsides.

The 8 best OptinMonster alternatives

1. OptiMonk

OptiMonk homepage: describe the popup you want and the AI agent builds it

Best for: stores that want popups designed for them, not built from a template.

OptiMonk is an agentic popup builder. You describe the popup you want in one sentence, the AI agent draws four concepts for your brand, and after you pick one it builds the popup, including a separate mobile version, and puts it live. The same conversation keeps going after launch: it runs A/B tests and suggests the next campaign.

Key features

  • AI agent: describe the popup; the agent designs it, writes it and puts it live.
  • Formats: popups, fullscreen, lucky wheel, scratch cards, surveys, countdowns
  • Targeting: exit intent (on mobile too), traffic source, cart value and contents, returning visitors, subscribers, Klaviyo lists and segments, frequency limits
  • Ecommerce: product recommendations, discount codes, unique codes and auto-applied codes on Shopify
  • Testing and measurement: A/B tests on every campaign, holdout tests, revenue analytics
  • Build from Claude or ChatGPT through the MCP server
  • Works on Shopify, WordPress and any website

Pricing: Free plan with every feature, up to 10,000 pageviews and 1,000 AI credits a month on one domain. Paid plans from $19/mo billed yearly ($29 billed monthly). Plans differ only in traffic, AI credits and domains.

Pros

  • Every feature on every plan, including Free
  • No design work: the agent designs each popup for your brand
  • Store-focused targeting and Shopify discount codes

Cons

  • Pricing is based on pageviews, so very high-traffic stores pay for traffic even on pages without campaigns
  • Design work uses AI credits, so heavy redesigning uses more of the monthly allowance
  • Fewer formats than tools that also do bars and embedded content

Comparing directly? See OptiMonk vs OptinMonster.

2. Privy

Privy homepage

Best for: Shopify stores that want popups and email marketing in one tool.

Privy combines onsite displays with email and SMS marketing for small and mid-size stores.

Pricing (Privy's pricing page, Oct 2026): no forever-free plan; 15-day free trial with no card. Pop-ups & Displays plans from $24/mo (up to 10,000 pageviews). Email plans from $30/mo (up to 1,500 contacts). Exit intent popups are listed on the plans.

Pros: popups and email in one place; built for ecommerce; syncs contacts with Shopify, BigCommerce and Wix.

Cons: no free plan; email pricing grows with your contact list.

See also: Privy alternatives.

3. Sleeknote

Sleeknote homepage

Best for: mid-size stores with a marketing team that wants a polished onsite tool.

Pricing (Sleeknote's pricing page, Oct 2026): no free plan; 14-day trial. Core plan €49/mo billed yearly, for up to 25,000 monthly visitors. Exit-intent trigger included on Core. Shopify app available.

Pros: ecommerce focus; exit intent on the entry plan.

Cons: no free plan; priced in euros and billed yearly at the entry level.

4. Wisepops

Wisepops homepage

Best for: stores that want popups alongside other onsite formats.

Pricing (Wisepops' website, Oct 2026): prices aren't published. You request a demo and get a quote, so you can't compare costs before talking to sales.

Pros: many onsite formats beyond popups.

Cons: no public pricing; you need a demo to get a quote.

5. Poptin

Poptin homepage

Best for: small stores on a tight budget.

Pricing (Poptin's pricing page, Oct 2026): free plan for 1,000 visitors a month on one domain. Basic plan $25/mo billed yearly ($240/yr). Exit intent included in Basic. Shopify and Wix features listed.

Pros: a usable free plan; low entry price.

Cons: visitor limits are low on the free plan; design is drag-and-drop, so the design work is yours.

6. Klaviyo sign-up forms

Klaviyo homepage

Best for: stores that already send email with Klaviyo.

Klaviyo's own forms let you collect emails and phone numbers straight into your Klaviyo lists.

Pricing (Klaviyo's pricing page, Oct 2026): web forms are included in the free Klaviyo plan (up to 250 profiles and 500 emails a month). Paid plans start at $20/mo for up to 500 active profiles and grow with your list: $150/mo at 10,000 and $720/mo at 50,000 active profiles.

Pros: no extra tool if you're already on Klaviyo; data lands directly in your lists.

Cons: forms are one part of an email platform, with fewer onsite formats and targeting options than a dedicated popup tool.

Already on Klaviyo and want more? OptiMonk can show or hide campaigns by Klaviyo list or segment.

7. Justuno

Justuno homepage

Best for: larger stores that want done-for-you help.

Pricing (Justuno's pricing page, Oct 2026): no free plan. Lite plan $59/mo, no contract, for up to 10,000 visitors a month; annual billing saves 10%. AI product recommendations are part of its Done-For-You plan.

Pros: done-for-you service options; product recommendations.

Cons: highest entry price on this list; no free plan.

8. Popup Maker

Popup Maker WordPress plugin homepage

Best for: WordPress sites that want a plugin they install and manage themselves.

Pricing (wppopupmaker.com, Oct 2026): free WordPress plugin with unlimited popups and limited features. Pro $99/yr (shown at a lower first-year price), billed yearly by number of sites. Exit intent and scroll triggers are in Pro.

Pros: free core plugin; priced per site, not per visitor.

Cons: WordPress only; you host, update and design everything yourself.

Comparing WordPress options? See the best WordPress popup plugins.

How much does OptinMonster cost?

As of October 2026, OptinMonster's plans cost $9, $27, $37 and $67 a month billed yearly (Basic, Plus, Pro, Growth), and renew at $210, $570, $870 and $1,470 a year. Basic covers 1 site and 2,500 impressions a month; Growth covers 5 sites and 100,000 impressions. Exit intent starts on Pro, and Shopify and other ecommerce integrations on Growth.

Is OptinMonster free?

No. OptinMonster says it doesn't offer a free version or freemium plan, and offers a 14-day money-back guarantee instead. The WordPress plugin is free to install but needs an OptinMonster account.

How to switch from OptinMonster to OptiMonk

  • List your live campaigns: what each one offers, where it shows and who sees it.
  • Install OptiMonk: the Shopify app, the WordPress plugin, or one code snippet.
  • Describe each campaign to the agent in one sentence, for example "the exit-intent popup with 10% off for first-time visitors". Pick a concept, set the targeting, build it.
  • Connect your email tool, check the new campaigns on your site, then switch off OptinMonster.

Your subscribers stay in your email tool, so nothing is lost in the move.

OptinMonster alternatives FAQ

Is there a free OptinMonster alternative?

Yes. OptiMonk has a free plan with every feature up to 10,000 pageviews a month. Poptin has a free plan for 1,000 visitors a month, Klaviyo's free plan includes sign-up forms, and Popup Maker has a free WordPress plugin.

What's the best OptinMonster alternative for Shopify?

Choose a tool with a Shopify app, cart-based targeting and Shopify discount codes. OptiMonk, Privy and Sleeknote all offer Shopify apps; OptiMonk can also create Shopify discount codes and apply them at checkout automatically.

Is OptinMonster worth it for ecommerce?

It can be, but check which plan you'd need: exit intent starts on Pro and ecommerce integrations on Growth ($67/mo billed yearly, renewing at $1,470/yr as of October 2026). Compare that with tools that include these features on lower plans or for free.

Why does OptiMonk price by pageviews?

So that every plan includes every feature and unlimited campaigns: you pay for the traffic the campaigns run on, not for features or the number of popups. If most of your pageviews are on pages without campaigns, compare plans at your real traffic.

Try the alternative that designs your popups for you

Describe your first popup in one sentence and see it on your store today.

Free to start. No credit card.

Written byNikolett LorinczMore from Nikolett

Keep reading

All articles
OptiMonk monk meditating in lotus pose

Your first popup is
one sentence away.

Free to start. No credit card.